• Books vs E-readers

    February 25, 2019 Hels

    “Fill your house with stacks of books, in all the crannies and all the nooks.” Libraries and bookshops are some of my favourite places. There is nothing quite like holding a book in your hand, flicking through the pages and admiring beautiful covers. I was never particularly interested in getting an e-reader, there is nothing that quite compares to the feeling of a physical book. However, I got a Kindle as a graduation present when I finished my degree, and…

    Read more
  • My Favourite Authors: Psychological Thrillers

    February 21, 2019 Hels

    “A gripping, unputdownable psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train” This tends to be the tagline for pretty much every book I’m recommended. I’ve always enjoyed reading psychological thrillers, though I never really realised what a huge, popular genre it was until last year. They’ve almost become a guilty pleasure for me, I can usually read them quickly, and although many of them are fairly similar…

    Read more
  • The ‘I Should Have Read That Book’ Tag

    January 28, 2019 Hels

    I don’t tend to do blog tags, but the lovely Amy tagged me in this one created by BooksNest and I really loved all the questions, so I’m excited to take part! 1. A book that a certain friend is always telling you to read I have a lot of recommendations from people… Abbey has often recommended Philippa Gregory books to me, but I really struggle with historical fiction so I’m yet to pick up any… I should probably branch…

    Read more
  • From page to screen – my favourite adaptations

    January 9, 2019 Hels

    I can’t even begin to count how many films and TV shows there are that have been adapted from a book. There have been so many times I’ve started a TV show or film and it’s only then that I realise that it’s based on a book, or that it seems familiar, and I realise I’ve read the book. It seems that almost every classic book has been adapted for the screen at one point or another, often several times,…

    Read more
  • “I think she’s trying to read the whole library before Christmas”

    December 17, 2018 Hels

    10 points if you can tell me what book the title is from! Christmas is coming, and one of my favourite things to do is curl up with a blanket, a cup of tea, an unlimited supply of chocolates and mince pies, and a good book. I wrote about my favourite autumnal reads, so I thought I’d share a selection of some of my festive reads… Harry Potter (J.K. Rowling) Harry Potter obviously featured in my autumn reads, but I…

    Read more
  • 2018 Reading Challenge: 75 books

    November 19, 2018 Hels

    I did it! At the start of this year I challenged myself to read 50 books, but I as the year went on, I increased it, and on my last day in Goa, I finished my 75th book!

    Read more
  • Curl Up With the Perfect Autumn Reads

    October 17, 2018 Hels

    While autumn brings with it falling leaves, beautiful colours, pumpkins and chunky knitwear, it also comes with shorter days and darker evenings.

    Read more
  • Five books I would recommend to everyone

    August 7, 2018 Hels

    I’m often asked for book recommendations, and I love hearing that people have enjoyed books I’ve suggested…

    Read more
1 2 3 4 5